Little Flower’s Reflection

Friday, March 10, 2017

(Ezekiel 18:21-28; Matthew 5:20-26)


When Jesus was teaching his disciples how to pray, he gave them the Our Father as the model of all prayers. But there was something that he insisted by repeating it twice, that is the idea of forgiveness.

Today as we close the week we are reminded of the law and forgiveness.‘If the wicked man renounces all the sins he has committed, respects my laws and is law-abiding and honest, he will certainly live; he will not die. All the sins he committed will be forgotten from then on; he shall live because of the integrity he has practised.” Then the opposite is true. “If the upright man renounces his integrity, commits sin, copies the wicked man and practises every kind of filth, is he to live? All the integrity he has practised shall be forgotten from then on; but this is because he himself has broken faith and committed sin, and for this he shall die.”

Anger is a sin because if unchecked, give birth to murders.

Yesterday as I was hurriedly driving in the busy streets of Rome, we were stopped by the street light while I was behind another car which seemed yo be older than mine. When the light turned green, the car in front delayed to move and I was getting late for Mass. I hooted to alert the driver but it made worse since the car jammed and my hooting and other motorist behind me made the driver of the stalled car have butterflies in the stomach. The more we hooted the more they increased.

Then I saw the driver’s door open and then I hooted more while waving my hands. Ah I was a lady and being women’s day I stopped hooting in respect. She walked to my car and leaning in my window said, “Sir, I would be delighted to hoot for you, if you would be kind enough to start my car for me.”

Well, I know you mighy be laughing at me but forgive me for the impatient.One thing for sure – anger only generates heat that burns away a person. Anger in me was being transferred to the horn but the lady cooled me down. I had to apologise before actually helping her to kick the engeen on again. We reconciled otherswise I wouldn’t have had the gut to celebrate Mass.

Reconciliation opens the door of the heart for God to enter and to heal and to bring about peace.

Reconciliation is not trying to justify somebody buy to show humility. Let us remember Jesus who was sinless dies for us who are sinners. Thus, we need to apologise even when we are on the right.

Being a Friday, we pray the Divine Mercy prayer asking for atonement not only for our suns but also those of others.

For the sake of Your sorrowful passion have mercy on us and on the whole world.

St. Theresa of Lisieux, pray for us

Leave a Reply

